Missouri S&T professor elected Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors

Posted by
On December 14, 2023

Dr. Sajal Das was recently elected as an NAI Fellow. Photo by Michael Pierce/Missouri S&T.

Dr. Sajal Das, Curators’ Distinguished Professor and Daniel St. Clair Endowed Chair of computer science at Missouri S&T, has been elected to the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) 2023 class of Fellows.  
“It feels wonderful to be recognized for my many inventions and their influence in my field,” Das says. “I have long held my colleagues who are NAI Fellows in high esteem, and I am glad to join their ranks.” 
NAI Fellows are elected annually by a selections committee. The committee noted that Das was selected because he has “demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development and welfare of society.”   
Das holds five patents for his inventions and has directed over $23 million in research projects. He has been published in over 400 academic journals, over 530 conference papers and 59 book chapters, and he has written four books. He is also a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association. 
Das is recognized as an expert across several areas of the computer science field, including cyber-physical systems and smart environments, internet of things, wireless and sensor networks, mobile and pervasive computing, high performance computing, machine learning and data science, and cyber security. He was recognized as being among the top 2% of researchers cited for his field last year, as well as for his entire career, in an analysis published by Stanford University.  
He has been a member of the Missouri S&T faculty since 2013 and served as chair of computer science from 2013 to 2017. He previously held faculty positions at the University of Texas at Arlington from 1999 to 2013 and University of North Texas from 1988 to 1999.  
He also served as a program director for the National Science Foundation from 2008 to 2011, and managed research grants and proposals focused on wireless networking, sensor networking, mobile and pervasive computing, and cyber-physical systems. 

Das received the University of Missouri System President’s Award for Sustained Career Excellence in 2018 and the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 2021 for his contributions to the fields of mobile and pervasive computing, wireless and sensor networks, and for research on societal impact. 
He earned a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Central Florida, a master’s degree in computer science from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, and bachelor’s degrees in physics and computer science from Calcutta University. 
For more information about Missouri S&T’s computer science department, visit cs.mst.edu.  

More about Missouri S&T

Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) is a STEM-focused research university of over 7,000 students located in Rolla, Missouri. Part of the four-campus University of Missouri System, Missouri S&T offers over 100 degrees in 40 areas of study and is among the nation’s top public universities for salary impact, according to the Wall Street Journal. For more information about Missouri S&T, visit www.mst.edu.

Share this page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *