S&T honors patent holders at Inventor Celebration Day

Posted by
On May 2, 2016

Missouri University of Science and Technology’s recent patent recipients were honored Wednesday, April 27, at the university’s second annual Inventor Celebration Day. Missouri S&T’s office of technology transfer and economic development (OTTED) hosted the campuswide event, which recognized nine S&T faculty who earned a patent in the past year.

“The growth of technology transfer at Missouri S&T is reflected in a record royalty income of $483,000 for the fiscal year of 2015,” says Keith Strassner, director of OTTED. “That represents an increase of 403 percent in the 10 years the office has been open.”

“The very first theme of our strategic plan is to develop and inspire creative thinkers and leaders for life-long success,” says Missouri S&T Chancellor Cheryl B. Schrader. “We are creating a culture that values new ideas and taking risks – it’s essential to fulfilling our mission to provide solutions to the world’s great challenges.”

The following faculty were recognized by the university:

— Dr. Yinfa Ma, associate dean for research and external relations in the College of Arts, Sciences, and Business and Curators’ Teaching Professor of chemistry, for his patent titled “Method and Apparatus for Cancer Screening.”

— Dr. Mohammad Tayeb Ghasr, assistant research professor of electrical and computer engineering, and Dr. Reza Zoughi, the Schlumberger Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering, for their patents titled “Three Dimensional Holographical Imaging” and “Free-Hand Scanning and Imaging.” Zoughi was also recognized for his patent titled “High-frequency analysis of a device under test.”

— Dr. Donald Wunsch, the Mary K. Finley Missouri Distinguished Professor of Computer Engineering, for his patent titled “Methods and systems for bi-clustering algorithm.”

— Dr. Nicholas Leventis, Curators’ Professor of chemistry, and Dr. Chariklia Soritiou-Leventis, professor of chemistry, for their patents titled “Acoustic Attenuators based on Porous Nanostructured Materials” and “Multifunctional Porous Aramids (Aerogels) and Fabrication Thereof.”

— Dr. Hyoung-Koo Lee, chair and associate professor of nuclear engineering, and Dr. Carlos Castano, associate professor of nuclear engineering, for their patent titled “Method to Fabricate Portable Electron Source Based on Nitrogen Incorporated Ultrananocrystalline Diamond (N-UNCD).”

— Dr. Delbert Day, Curators’ Professor emeritus of materials science and engineering, for his patent titled “Method and System for Purifying Charged Radioisotopes.”

Share this page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *