S&T Alumna and Woman Student of the Year winners announced

Posted by
On October 22, 2008

The Missouri S&T Alumna and Woman Student of the Year Committee announced its 2008 award winners during an Oct. 17 ceremony in the campus’s Havener Center.

Cynthia L. Tharp, assistant director of the university’s writing center, received the Missouri S&T 2008 Alumna of the Year Award. This honor recognizes demonstrated commitment of an alumna to enhance the lives of women.

Tharp received her bachelor’s degree in history and philosophy from S&T in 2002. Her professional achievements include conducting research in the state of Missouri’s archives, the Missouri State Historical Society and the St. Louis Botanical Gardens, and organizing and inventorying historical state documents, including the Code of State Regulations to improve accessibility. She was inducted into Phi Theta Alpha National History Honor Society and Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Fraternity, and presented at the Phi Theta Aloha Mid-Western Conference and the Biennial National Convention. Tharp is also the 2008 team development chair with the American Cancer Society’s Relay For Life of Phelps County.

The Missouri S&T 2008 Woman Student of the Year award went to Jennifer Kresse, a senior in biological sciences. This award recognizes demonstrated commitment of a female student to support her peers.

Kresse works with the Mid-Missouri Area Health Education Center, where she developed new and innovative ways to help students gain valuable health care experiences, and with the Phelps County Regional Medical Center Patient Ambassador Program. She is an officer in the S&T student group SCRUBS, where she has helped raise student awareness of the value and importance of community service.

The 2008 Women Student Silver Award went to Jennifer Kelley, a junior in civil engineering. Kelley is involved with Engineers Without Borders, the Chancellor’s Leadership Academy and Zeta Tau Alpha. She also mentors freshmen during Opening Week activities.

The 2008 Women Student Bronze Award went to Jennifer Abbott, a senior in civil engineering. Abbott is a member of the Society of Women Engineers and helped organize its restructure. She is also a member of Zeta Tau Alpha, where she has helped with several successful lock-ins.

Share this page