Missouri S&T to honor faculty, alumni and friends during Homecoming

Posted by
On October 18, 2022

Hasselmann Alumni House at Missouri S&T. Photo by Sam O’Keefe/Missouri S&T

Eight people with ties to Missouri S&T will be honored for their professional achievements and service contributions during the Miner Alumni Association’s Legends Luncheon on Friday, Oct. 21. The awards banquet is held annually in conjunction with Missouri S&T’s Homecoming festivities.

The event will be held noon-1:30 p.m. in the Kinyon-Koeppel Grand Hall of Hasselmann Alumni House at Missouri S&T, located at 1100 N. Pine St. in Rolla. The luncheon is open to the public, and tickets are $20. To register, visit mineralumni.com/homecoming. For more information, contact the Miner Alumni Association at 800-566-4637 or email alumni@mst.edu.

Award recipients include:

  • William Atkins of Albuquerque, New Mexico, will receive the Robert V. Wolf Alumni Service Award. Atkins, a principal member of Technical Staff at Sandia Laboratories, earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in computer engineering from S&T in 2005 and 2007, respectively. 
  • Charles Blaschke IV of Dallas, will receive the Distinguished Young Alumni Award. Blaschke, an entrepreneur and vice president of energy and sustainability at NorthPoint Development, earned a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from S&T in 2008.
  • Carey Bottom of Brownsburg, Indiana, will receive the Alumni Achievement Award. Bottom, a retired pharmaceutical executive and entrepreneur, earned bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in chemistry from S&T in 1972, 1975 and 1979, respectively. He received the S&T Award of Professional Distinction in chemistry in 1996.
  • Janet Conner of Kansas City, Missouri, will receive the Distinguished Young Alumni Award. Conner, director of business operations at Oracle Cerner, earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from S&T in 2004.
  • Mary Gillis of Rolla, Missouri, will receive the Class of ’42 Excellence in Teaching Award. Gillis is an assistant teaching professor of teacher education and certification at Missouri S&T.
  • Joan Nesbitt of West Bend, Wisconsin, will receive the Honorary Life Member Award. Nesbitt, vice chancellor for development and alumni relations at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee, served as vice chancellor for University Advancement at Missouri S&T from 2011-22.
  • Karen Squires Foelsch of Parkville, Missouri, will receive the Frank H. Mackaman Alumni Volunteer Service Award. Squires Foelsch, retired senior vice president of Pearson Assessment, earned a bachelor’s degree in computer science from S&T in 1989. 
  • Linda Wright of Spring, Texas, will receive the Alumni Merit Award. Wright, product solutions technology portfolio vice president at ExxonMobil, earned a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from S&T in 1988. She received the S&T Award of Professional Distinction in chemical engineering in 2009.

About Missouri University of Science and Technology

Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) is a STEM-focused research university of over 7,000 students. Part of the four-campus University of Missouri System and located in Rolla, Missouri, Missouri S&T offers 101 degrees in 40 areas of study and is among the nation’s top 10 universities for return on investment, according to Business Insider. S&T also is home to the Kummer Institute, made possible by a $300 million gift from Fred and June Kummer. For more information about Missouri S&T, visit www.mst.edu.

Share this page

Posted by

On October 18, 2022. Posted in Alumni

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *