S&T student leaders and others recognized at awards program

Posted by
On May 16, 2013

Missouri University of Science and Technology celebrated campus leadership and support at the 11th annual Student Leaders’ Awards program held at the Havener Center on the Missouri S&T campus on May 1.

Aimee Snell, a senior in mechanical engineering from Springfield, Mo., received the Extraordinary Student Leader Award. The award recognizes overall leadership excellence of a student leader at S&T. Criteria for selection includes time and effort, impact on the campus community, scope of leadership ability, variety of positions served, internal motivation and drive, and a demonstrated desire to sustain leadership beyond their responsibilities.

The Water Environment Federation received the Most Improved Organization Award for its significant growth in improving in stature and contributions to the university in the past year.

Offie Adams, a senior in electrical engineering from St. Louis, received the Most Spirited Miner Award for spreading campus and community spirit through his actions and words.

Steven Naji, a senior in information science and technology from Rolla, received the Outstanding Student Advocate Award for his dedication to improving student lives at S&T.

Erin Stampp, assistant director of student diversity programs, received the Extraordinary Faculty/Staff Member Award for her support of students’ development of personal and leadership skills.

Cagatay “Ty” Atmaca, a graduate student in geology and geophysics from Rolla, received the Diversity Recognition Award for his leadership role in improving the climate at S&T for diverse groups and educating the campus to appreciate this increasingly diverse campus and community.

Brett Watson, a student program administrator in the student life department, received the Keystone Award for his efforts in supporting student organizations and helping them achieve success.

The event was hosted by the Missouri S&T Student Council, Blue Key Honor Society, Residence Hall Association, Order of Omega, National Residence Hall Honorary and Tau Beta Pi. 

Share this page

Posted by

On May 16, 2013. Posted in People

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *