Student leaders and others recognized at awards program

Posted by
On April 30, 2010

Missouri University of Science and Technology celebrated campus leadership and support at the 8th Annual Student Leaders’ Awards program held April 12 at the Havener Center on the Missouri S&T campus.

The event was hosted by the Missouri S&T Student Council, Blue Key Honor Society, Residence Hall Association, Order of Omega, National Residence Hall Honorary and Tau Beta Pi, in association with the Missouri S&T Corporate Development Council (CDC).

The CDC is comprised of approximately 50 of the university’s corporate partners, including Accenture, Ameren UE, Anheuser-Busch InBev, Associated Electric Cooperative, Brinkmann Constructors, Burns & McDonnell, Caterpillar Inc., Cerner Corp., Chevron Corp., ConocoPhillips, Covidien, Emerson Motor Technologies, General Motors Corp., Honeywell International Inc., J.E. Dunn Construction Co., the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Nucor-Yamato Steel Co., Omaha Public Power District, Schlumberger Ltd., Traylor Bros., United States Steel Corp. and Watlow Electric Manufacturing Co.

The extraordinary student leader award recipients, presented by the division of student affairs, are as follows:

Bahierah Khusheim, a senior in engineering management from Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, received the Extraordinary Leadership in Global Involvement Award. The award recognizes a distinctive and extraordinary student leader who exemplifies a strong commitment to community development, cultural awareness and support of diversity initiatives at S&T.

Julian Davenport of St. Louis, Mo., a senior in electrical engineering, received the Extraordinary Leadership in Community Empowerment Award. The award recognizes the extraordinary dedication and effort of a student leader on behalf of the student body at S&T in developing and advancing positive working relationships with the students, faculty and administration.

Matt Hume, a senior in engineering management from St. Charles, Mo., received the Extraordinary Leadership in Campus and Community Engagement Award. Hume was recognized for his dedication and involvement in the residence halls and with academic success programs.

Danny Ryan, a senior in mechanical engineering from Springfield, Ill., received the Extraordinary Student Leader Award. The award recognizes overall leadership excellence of a student leader at S&T. Criteria for selection includes time and effort, impact on the campus community, scope of leadership ability, variety of positions served, internal motivation and drive, and a demonstrated desire to sustain leadership beyond their responsibilities.

Other awards and winners are as follows:

The PRO Leaders received the Remarkable Student Group Award for their commitment to the principles of leadership on which S&T was founded.

Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honorary received the Most Improved Organization Award for its significant growth in improving in stature and contributions to the university in the past recent year.
Joe’s PEERs received the Group Community Service Award for the amount and quality of service to the campus and community in the past year.

Dominic Clucas, a senior in environmental engineering from St. Louis, received the Individual Community Service Award for his efforts and contributions to the campus and community.

Danny Ryan, a freshman in computer science from St. Peters, Mo., received the Most Spirited Miner Award for spreading campus and community spirit through his actions and words.

Tiffany Kroeze, student program administrator in the student life department, received the Outstanding Student Advocate Award for her dedication to the betterment of student lives at S&T.
Angela Perkins, associate director of student life, received the Extraordinary Faculty/Staff Member Award for her support of students’ development of personal and leadership skills.

Bahierah Khusheim also received the Diversity Recognition Award for her leadership role in improving the climate at S&T for diverse groups and in educating the campus to appreciate an increasingly diverse campus and community.

Kathy Allison, administrative assistant in the student life department, received the Keystone Award for her efforts in supporting student organizations and helping them achieve success.

Share this page

Posted by

On April 30, 2010. Posted in People