S&T student leaders and others recognized at awards program

Posted by
On April 27, 2009

Missouri S&T celebrated campus leadership and support at the 6th Annual Student Leaders’ Awards program held at the Havener Center on April 16.

The event was hosted by the Missouri S&T Student Council, Blue Key Honor Society, Residence Hall Association and Tau Beta Pi, in association with the Missouri S&T Corporate Development Council (CDC). The CDC is comprised of approximately 50 of the university’s corporate partners, including Accenture, Ameren UE, Bell Helicopter, The Boeing Co., Brinkmann Constructors, Caterpillar, ConocoPhillips Co., Covidien, Empire District Electric, Honeywell International Inc., J.E. Dunn Construction Co., Schlumberger and Sprint/Nextel.

The extraordinary student leader award recipients, presented by the division of student affairs, are as follows:

The Extraordinary Community and Cultural Development Award recognizes a distinctive and extraordinary student leader who exemplifies a strong commitment to community development, cultural awareness and support of diversity initiatives at Missouri S&T. Anthony Chiles, a senior in civil engineering from Columbus, Ga., was presented with the award.

The Extraordinary Leadership in Campus and Administrative Engagement Award recognizes the extraordinary dedication and effort of a student leader on behalf of the student body at Missouri S&T in developing and advancing positive working relationships with the faculty and administration. Andrew Ronchetto of Chesterfield, Mo., a senior in engineering management and former student body president, was presented with the award.

The Extraordinary Student Leader Award recognizes overall leadership excellence of a student leader at Missouri S&T. Criteria for selection includes time and effort, impact on the campus community, scope of leadership ability, variety of positions served, internal motivation and drive, and a demonstrated desire to sustain leadership beyond their responsibilities. Beth Groenke of Gerald, Mo., a senior in interdisciplinary engineering and former student body president, was presented with the award.

Other awards and winners are as follows:

Circle K was awarded the Remarkable Student Group Award for its commitment to the principles of leadership on which Missouri S&T was founded.
Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity was awarded the Most Improved Organization Award for its significant growth in improving in stature and contributions to the university in the past recent year.
Delta Sigma Phi was also awarded the Fraternity Group Community Service Award for the amount and quality of service to the campus and community in the past year.
John Conroy, a senior in environmental engineering from St. Louis, received the Individual Community Service Award for his efforts and contributions to the campus and community.
Chris Payne, a freshman in computer science from St. Peters, Mo., received the Most Spirited Miner Award for spreading campus and community spirit through his actions and words.
Lynn Stichnote, director of student financial assistance at S&T, received the Outstanding Student Advocate Award for her outstanding dedication to the betterment of student lives at Missouri S&T.
Dr. Chris Weisbrook, lecturer in engineering management and systems engineering, received the Extraordinary Faculty/Staff Member Award for her support of students’ development of personal and leadership skills.
Roberta Morgan, assistant director of international affairs, received the Diversity Recognition Award for her leadership role in improving the climate at S&T for diverse groups and in educating the campus to appreciate an increasingly diverse campus and community.
Dr. Chris Ramsay, adjunct professor in materials science at S&T and advisor to Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity, received the Keystone Award for his influence on the lives of S&T students and for his service as a source of strength and encouragement.

Share this page

Posted by

On April 27, 2009. Posted in People