UMR’s Human-Powered Vehicle Team wins national championship

Posted by
On May 14, 2007

A student design team at the University of Missouri-Rolla has won a national championship. UMR won its sixth-straight East Coast championship in human-powered vehicle racing May 11-13 in Ocala, Fla. The UMR team had already won the 2007 West Coast championship, which was held April 13-15 at NASA’s Ames Research Center in California.         

UMR’s stealth vehicle stalks its prey during the East Coast competition. — photo by Bob Phelan

The two events attracted about 25 university teams each, but the UMR team has been dominant all spring.         

Human-powered vehicles are recumbent bikes with aerodynamic shells. The bikes can go about 45 mph. During competitions, university teams are judged in sprints, endurance tests, design reports and oral presentations. UMR took first place in all of the categories at the East Coast competition.         

Last year, the UMR team won the East Coast event but finished second on the West Coast. The UMR team redesigns its vehicle every year. More information about UMR’s student design teams is available at: .         

Members of UMR’s 2007 National Championship Human-Powered Vehicle Racing Team include:         

– Jerrod Bouchard, a senior in mechanical engineering from Camdenton, Mo.

– Silvey Britton, a freshman in chemical engineering from O’Fallon, Ill.

– Matt Brown, a senior in mechanical engineering from Rolla

– Craig George, a junior in electrical engineering from St. Joseph, Mo.

– Alex Hollenbeck, a sophomore in mechanical engineering from O’Fallon, Ill.

– Mike Janaske, a sophomore in nuclear engineering from St. Peters, Mo.        

– Whitney Joseph, a junior in engineering management from O’Fallon, Ill.

– Ben Kettler, a sophomore in electrical engineering from Wentzville, Mo.

– Whittney Metcalf, a sophomore in petroleum engineering from Ulysses, Kan.

– Cameron Mings, a freshman in mechanical engineering from Glendora, Calif.

– Chris Perry, a sophomore in business and management systems from High Ridge, Mo.

– Kyle Rackers, a junior in mechanical engineering from Jefferson City, Mo.

– Daniel Rosner, a sophomore in civil engineering from St. Peters, Mo.

– Daniel Segert, a freshman in metallurgical engineering from Fairview Heights, Ill.

– Eric Sommer, a junior in aerospace engineering from O’Fallon, Mo.

– Andrew Sourk, a junior in aerospace engineering from St. Joseph, Mo.

– Mark Wagner, a senior in mechanical engineering from St. James, N.Y.

– Greg Wilke, a senior in engineering management from Arnold, Mo.

Share this page

Posted by

On May 14, 2007. Posted in News