Seven Phelps County students receive Prewett Scholarships from UMR

Posted by
On April 3, 2007

Seven Rolla area students at the University of Missouri-Rolla were recently awarded the Mr. and Mrs. Francis Carl Prewett Sr. Scholarship.

The Mr. and Mrs. Francis Carl Prewett Sr. Scholarship is targeted at high school students in Phelps County with a preference for those who have an interest in English, history, psychology or philosophy, but need financial assistance. The scholarship is renewable for up to four years, provided the recipient’s grades maintain a C average.

The Prewetts established a scholarship in the College of Arts and Sciences several years ago to assist area students who had an interest in the liberal arts, but needed financial assistance. Prewett, whose family has lived in Phelps County for several generations, received a bachelor of science degree in geology and geophysics from UMR in 1966.

Students receiving the 2007 Mr. and Mrs. Francis Carl Prewett Sr. Scholarship are:

Ariel Campos of Rolla, Mo., a senior in history
Rachel Forester of Newburg, Mo., a freshman in history
Angela Hundt of Rolla, Mo., a freshman in psychology
James Maxwell of St. James, Mo., a junior in technical communication
Tabitha Modesitt of Rolla, Mo., a sophomore in English
Jessica Shaffer of St. James, Mo., a senior in English
Nicole Zullig of Rolla, Mo., a senior in history

Members of the scholarship committee include Gene Doty, chair and associate professor of English and technical communication; Dr. Larry Gragg, chair and Curators’ Teaching Professor of history and political science; Dr. Richard Miller, chair and professor of arts, languages and philosophy; and Dr. Robert Montgomery, chair and professor of psychology. Robert Whites, director of student financial aid, also assisted.

For more information on the Prewett Scholarship contact Gragg at 573-341-4804.

Share this page

Posted by

On April 3, 2007. Posted in News