UMR alumnus, Eta Kappa Nu chapter receive national honors

Posted by
On March 30, 2007

Benjamin R. Moss, a 2006 graduate of the University of Missouri-Rolla and Rolla native, recently received the Alton B. Zerby and Carl T. Koerner Outstanding Electrical and Computer Engineering Student Award from Eta Kappa Nu (HKN), the national electrical and computer engineering honor society.

Each of the more than 200 HKN chapters may nominate one student for the award. Moss is the third UMR student to win the award in the program’s 41-year history. Moss, a graduate student at MIT, earned three bachelor’s degrees from UMR in computer engineering, computer science and electrical engineering.

In addition, the UMR Gamma Theta Chapter of HKN was one of 15 chapters nationwide selected to receive an Outstanding Chapter Award for the 2005-2006 academic year. UMR’s chapter has received the honor for five years straight.

The Outstanding Chapter Activities Award is presented annually to outstanding undergraduate chapters that have enhanced the prestige of electrical engineering through their professional development, institutional assistance, scholarship and public service activities.

“Our students demonstrate effective leadership through a well-balanced program of activities and outreach,” says Dr. Steve E. Watkins, professor of electrical and computer engineering at UMR and chapter co-advisor. “I am not surprised that they rank among the best in the nation consistently.” Watkins was also recognized for completing a three-year term as director-at-large on the HKN Board of Governors.

Other co-advisors include Dr. Daryl Beetner, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering at UMR, and Dr. Sahra Sedigh, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering at UMR.

Share this page

Posted by

On March 30, 2007. Posted in News