ASEM honors engineering management faculty, alumni

Posted by
On November 15, 2005

Three faculty members from UMR’s engineering management and systems engineering department and two recent Ph.D. recipients from that department were honored by the American Society of Engineering Management during ASEM’s annual conference Oct. 26-29 in Virginia Beach, Va.

Dr. Donald D. Myers, a professor of engineering management, was named an ASEM Fellow for distinguished service and contributions to the society. The fellow designation is the highest honor for ASEM members. Myers, a member of the UMR faculty since 1979, was a founding member of ASEM and instrumental in starting the organization. He holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in mechanical engineering from UMR and an MBA and law degree from Saint Louis University. Myers has also been active in the American Society for Engineering Education and has served as science advisor to Missouri governors Christopher Bond and John Ashcroft. In addition, he was a member of the U.S. Senate Science Committee staff that helped developed the Technology Transfer Act of 1986.

Drs. David Enke and David Spurlock, both assistant professors of engineering management, and Dr. Neal Lewis, a 2004 Ph.D. graduate in engineering management, received the Ted Eschenbach Best Engineering Management Journal Paper Award for 2005 for their paper, “Valuation for the Strategic Management of Research and Development Projects: The Deferral Option.

The department also received the 2005 Engineering Management Dissertation Award for “The Role of Acquisitions in High Technology Firms’ Profitability and Performance,” by Dr. Karla Callahan, who earned her master’s and Ph.D. degrees in engineering management from UMR in 1999 and 2004, respectively. Myers was her dissertation advisor.


Related Links

UMR engineering management and systems engineering

Share this page

Posted by

On November 15, 2005. Posted in News