Area school districts honored for distinction in performance at UMR

Posted by
On March 31, 2005

Twenty-seven school districts in south central Missouri were honored for their "Distinction in Performance" at a banquet held at the University of Missouri-Rolla on March 23.

The banquet was co-sponsored by UMR, the South Central Regional Professional Development Center and the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).

Dr. Bert Schulte, deputy commissioner of education, Dr. Charles Brown, assistant commissioner of education, and Jeannine Osborn, of the State Board of Education, presented the districts with a plaque. Dr. Paula Lutz, dean of the UMR College of Arts and Sciences, recognized the schools for their achievements.

The award is based on the districts’ annual performance reports, which are tabulated each year by DESE. The report is based on the same criteria used in the accreditation standards for school districts, including Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) test scores, ACT scores, attendance and dropout rates, enrollment in advanced and vocational courses, and graduates continuing their education or being placed in occupations for which they were trained.

To qualify for the Distinction in Performance, K-12 districts had to meet 11 of 12 performance indicators during the last school year and all of the MAP standards. K-8 school districts were recognized if they met five of the six possible performance indicators, as well as all of the MAP standards.

Districts receiving the honor include: Belleview R-III in Belleview, Mo., Centerville R-I in Centerville, Mo., Couch R-I in Myrtle, Mo., Crawford R-I in Bourbon, Mo., Crocker R-II in Crocker, Mo., Fairview R-XI in West Plains, Mo., Franklin County R-II in New Haven, Mo., Glenwood R-VIII in West Plains, Mo., Houston R-I in Houston, Mo., Howell Valley R-I in West Plains, Mo., Laquey R-V in Laquey, Mo., Meramec Valley R-III in Pacific, Mo., Mountain View-Birch Tree R-III in Mountain View, Mo., Newburg R-II in Newburg, Mo., Northwood R-IV in Salem, Mo., Phelps County R-III in Edgar Springs, Mo., Richards R-V in West Plains, Mo., Richwoods R-VII in Richwoods, Mo., South Iron County R-I in Annapolis, Mo., St. Clair R-XIII in St. Clair, Mo., St. James R-I in St. James, Mo., Spring Bluff R-XV in Sullivan, Mo., Steelville R-III in Steelville, Mo., Success R-VI in Success, Mo., Swedeborg R-III in Richland, Mo., Valley R-VI in Caledonia, Mo., and Waynesville R-VI in Waynesville, Mo.

Two other school districts from the region were also selected for the honor. Union R-XI in Union, Mo., and Washington School District in Washington, Mo., will receive their award at an upcoming banquet in St. Louis.

"The Distinction in Performance award is designed to recognize students and teachers each year for their efforts in improving overall academic achievement," says Brown. "We hope this honor will serve as a way for school districts and communities to celebrate their role in meeting Missouri’s high educational standards."

"The leadership, staff and students should be commended for this significant achievement," says Dr. Doris Ridder, director of the South Central Regional Professional Development Center. "I am sure the patrons are pleased with the high academic performance achieved by the students in these school districts and the example they have set for others."

Share this page

Posted by

On March 31, 2005. Posted in News