UMR researcher receives award from electrical engineering honor society

Posted by
On June 21, 2004

Dr. Daryl Beetner, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Missouri-Rolla, recently received the national C. Holmes MacDonald Award as the Outstanding Young Electrical Engineering Professor for 2003 from Eta Kappa Nu, an electrical engineering honor society. It’s the first time a UMR faculty member has won the award since its creation nearly 30 years ago, although Beetner received an honorable mention in 2002.

The award is based on Beetner’s contributions to teaching, research and service, with an emphasis on his teaching and service. He has served as the faculty advisor of the student sections of the UMR Institute for Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society and co-advisor of the UMR HKN-ECE Honor Society. He also has held several offices within the Rolla section of the IEEE, from member-at-large to president. In addition, he has been very involved with educational outreach and service activities at UMR.

Beetner joined UMR in 1998. Prior to his current position at UMR, he was a research associate at Washington University in St. Louis and taught part-time at Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville. Beetner has participated in research grants with others at UMR totaling more than $3.5 million in the areas of education, humanitarian teaching, skin cancer detection and electromagnetic compatibility.

Beetner received a bachelor of science degree from Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville in 1990 and his master of science degree and doctorate from Washington University in St. Louis in 1994 and 1997, respectively. All three degrees were in electrical engineering. In addition, Beetner received the IEEE Outstanding Faculty Award from the St. Louis section in 2001 and the UMR Faculty Excellence Award in 2003.

The UMR chapter of the HKN-ECE Honor Society also recently earned an honorable mention for Eta Kappa Nu’s Outstanding Chapter Activities Award. The award is based on a chapter’s activities that improve professional development, raise instructional and institutional standards, encourage scholarship and creativity and offer a public-service benefit. UMR chapter co-advisors include Beetner; Dr. Ann Miller, the Cynthia Tang Missouri Distinguished Professor of Computer Engineering; and Dr. Steve Watkins, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering.

Related Links

Eta Kappa Nu
UMR chapter of the HKN-ECE Honor Society
UMR chapter of the Institute for Electrical and Electronic Engineers

Share this page

Posted by

On June 21, 2004. Posted in News

For journalists

Need to get in touch with our media relations team? For non-urgent requests, please email or call 573-341-4328. Or contact one of the staff members below during or after office hours.

Andrew Careaga

Chief Marketing and Communications Officer

Peter Ehrhard

Senior Strategic Communications Consultant

Mary Helen Stoltz

Editorial Director

Nancy Bowles

Senior Strategic Communications Consultant