Ten honored at Missouri S&T Staff Day awards ceremony

Posted by
On May 30, 2024

Employees honored during the 2024 Missouri S&T Staff Appreciation Day awards include, from left: Dr. David Westenberg, Kimber Crull, Erika Jacobs, Dr. Frank Han, Jeffrey Cameron, Peter Ehrhard, Skylar Rea, Ethan Taber, Emily King O’Donnell and Ashley Newton. Photo by Kaitlin Brothers/Missouri S&T.

Ten Missouri University of Science and Technology employees were honored for their contributions to the campus during the university’s Staff Appreciation Day celebration on Thursday, May 30.

Candidates for the awards were nominated by faculty, staff and students. The winners were selected based on their job performance, relationships with associates and dedication to Missouri S&T. Winners received a plaque and a gift presented by Cody Honse, assistant vice president of Legends Bank.

Six staff members received Staff Excellence Awards, accompanied by a monetary award of $1,000 provided by the chancellor’s office. Awardees were honored as bridge builders, for excellence in work and for their student-centric focus. The winners are:

  • Jeffrey Cameron, system support analyst for information technology
  • Peter Ehrhard, senior strategic communications consultant for marketing and communications
  • Scott Allen Hicks, refrigeration mechanic for facilities services
  • Ashley Newton, business operations associate II for the College of Engineering and Computing
  • Skylar Rea, engineering technician II for mechanical and aerospace engineering
  • Ethan Taber, reactor manager for nuclear engineering and radiation science.

Two staff members received Outstanding Newcomer Awards, given to staff members who have made a positive impact in their first two years at Missouri S&T. The winners are:

  • Erika Jacobs, assistant director and child development specialist for the Child Development Center
  • Emily King O’Donnell, senior grant writer for research and innovation.

The Outstanding Faculty Award recognizes a faculty member who is actively engaged in supporting staff across campus. The 2024 award went to Dr. Daoru (Frank) Han, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering and director of the Gas and Plasma Dynamics Laboratory.

In addition to the staff and faculty excellence awards, Staff Council presented the Jan Buhlinger Spirit Award to Kimber Crull, senior strategic communications consultant in marketing and communications. The award is named for the late Jan Buhlinger, a former Missouri S&T employee and member of Staff Council. Recipients are selected by Staff Council based on their Missouri S&T spirit.

Additionally, Dr. David Westenberg, Curators’ Distinguished Professor of biological sciences, was recognized for his service as a Faculty Senate liaison to the Staff Council.

About Missouri University of Science and Technology

Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) is a STEM-focused research university of over 7,000 students located in Rolla, Missouri. Part of the four-campus University of Missouri System, Missouri S&T offers over 100 degrees in 40 areas of study and is among the nation’s top public universities for salary impact, according to the Wall Street Journal. For more information about Missouri S&T, visit www.mst.edu

Share this page

Posted by

On May 30, 2024. Posted in People

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *