Nine honored at Staff Excellence Awards ceremony

Posted by
On May 26, 2022

The recipients of Staff Excellence awards with Chancellor Mo Dehghani. Michael Pierce/Missouri S&T

Nine Missouri University of Science and Technology employees were honored for their contributions to the campus during the university’s Staff Appreciation Day celebration on Wednesday, May 25.

Each winner received a certificate and plaque during the awards ceremony, which began at 9 a.m. in the St. Pat’s Ballroom of the Havener Center.

The winners were selected from a group of staff members who were nominated by faculty, staff and students. Winners are selected on the basis of their job performance, relationships with associates and dedication to Missouri S&T.

Six staff members received the 2022 Staff Excellence Awards. In addition to a plaque, each Excellence Award winner will also receive a monetary award of $1,000 provided by the Chancellor’s Office. The winners are:

  • Amy McMillen, interim director of the S&T Advising Center
  • Jeannie Werner, office support assistant III forcivil, architectural and environmental engineering
  • Dedie Wilson, experiential learning specialist in academic support
  • Nancy Winterburg, business support specialist II for biological sciences
  • Latesha Zach, fiscal manager for the College of Engineering and Computing
  • Roger Younger, computer engineer in electrical and computer engineering

The Newcomer Award is given to a staff member who has made a positive impact in their first two years at Missouri S&T. Rob Bussell, senior admissions counselor for the Chicago region, received the 2022 Newcomer Award.

The Outstanding Faculty Award recognizes a faculty member who is actively engaged in supporting staff across campus. Dr. Diana Ahmad, Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor of history emerita, received the 2022 Outstanding Faculty Award

In addition to the staff and faculty excellence awards, Staff Council presented the Jan Buhlinger Spirit Award to Megan Fowler, business support specialist II in the College of Engineering and Computing and president of Staff Council. The award is named for the late Jan Buhlinger, a former Missouri S&T staff member and member of Staff Council. Recipients are selected by Staff Council based on their Missouri S&T spirit. 

About Missouri University of Science and Technology

Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) is a STEM-focused research university of over 7,200 students. Part of the four-campus University of Missouri System and located in Rolla, Missouri, Missouri S&T offers 101 degrees in 40 areas of study and is among the nation’s top 10 universities for return on investment, according to Business Insider. S&T also is home to the Kummer Institute, made possible by a $300 million gift from Fred and June Kummer. For more information about Missouri S&T, visit

Share this page

Posted by

On May 26, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


One thought on “Nine honored at Staff Excellence Awards ceremony”

  • David G. Sizemore says:

    It is terrific to hear this set of awards. The excellence of the support staff is often hidden due to their diligence and dedication but it makes MO S&T a top school composed of caring individuals.
    Well deserved.