Materials science and engineering awards and recognitions

Posted by
On July 1, 2021

Image of blackboard with the words well done

Student recognition

Julian Kosacki, a Ph.D. student in materials science and engineering, recently earned the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science Graduate Student Research Award.

The Missouri S&T Academy of Mines and Metallurgy awarded scholarships to Kathryn Buscher, a senior in ceramic engineering, and McKenzie Shea, a senior in metallurgical engineering.

Zoe Reed, a senior in ceramic engineering, was public relations lead for a team of S&T students who won a grant through NASA’s BIG Ideas Challenge to develop a way to remove lunar dust from power-producing solar cells.

Maalavan Arivu, a Ph.D. student in materials science and engineering, received a Ph.D. Scholar Award from the S&T College of Engineering and Computing.

Joshua Rittenhouse, a Ph.D. student in materials science and engineering, received a Ph.D. fellowship from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Nuclear Energy. 

Nathan Curtis, MetE’21, was awarded graduate fellowships from the National Science Foundation and the U.S. Department of Energy Nuclear Energy University Program (NEUP). He accepted the NEUP fellowship and plans to study high-entropy alloys for cladding materials at the University of Wisconsin.

At MS&T’20, S&T’s Keramos chapter received the Diamond Award and Most Outstanding Chapter again. Claire Pallett won first place and Michelle Pallet won 2nd place in the “Most Aesthetic Mug” contest. Ashleigh Abbot won second place in the student speaking contest. The team of Tony Luebbert, Amber Meyer, Will Reicher and Jacob Stacy took second place in the ceramic disc golf competition.

Faculty recognition

Wayne Huebner received a 2020 Governor’s Award for Excellence in Education and was recognized during a surprise celebration on Thursday, Nov. 19.

Mary Reidmeyer was named a fellow of the American Ceramic Society (ACerS) in recognition of her contributions to the ceramic sciences.

Richard K. Brow received ACerS Distinguished Life Member, the organization’s highest honor.

William Fahrenholtz received the UM System President’s Award for Sustained Career Excellence and the Missouri S&T Outstanding Teaching Commendation.

Jeffrey Smith, Wayne Huebner and Greg Hilmas received Outstanding Teaching Awards. Smith also received the 2019-20 Sustained Excellence in Outstanding Teaching Award, which recognizes faculty members who have received the Outstanding Teaching Award for at least nine out of the last 10 years.

Michael Moats, professor and interim chair of materials science and engineering, received the S&T Outstanding Teaching Commendation. Moats also co-authored a policy brief titled “Framing Energy and Minerals for Future Pathways” for the T-20, a policy think -tank for the G-20 summit and testified the U.S. House Natural Resources Committee Republicans.

Laura Bartlett, Wolf Associate Professor of Metallurgical Engineering, was granted tenure and was named to the Research Advisory Committee for the Kummer Institute for Student Success, Research and Economic Development.  She was also appointed to the American Foundry Society (AFS) Board of Directors, the governing body of AFS, and the AFS Technical Council.  During 2020-21, Bartlett also received the 2021 AIST Specialty Alloy and Foundry Best Paper Award and the AFS Distinguished Service Award.

Steven Jung, CerE’05, MS CerE’07, PhD MSE’10, an adjunct professor of materials science and engineering at Missouri S&T who developed a specialty glass used to speed healing of open wounds, was named a senior member of the National Academy of Inventors and will receive the Tadashi Kokubo Awards for bio-ceramics from ACerS.

David Van Aken and Dan Field, MetE’13, PhD MetE’18, were awarded the Champion H. Mathewson Award from TMS-AIME for notable contribution to metallurgical engineering for their paper “Dynamic Strain Aging Phenomena and Tensile Response of Medium-Mn TRIP Steel.”

Ron O’Malley finished his two terms as AIST president. Due to COVID, O’Malley served as president for two years instead of the standard one-year. This makes him the longest reigning president of AIST in history.

Share this page

Posted by

On July 1, 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *