S&T student leaders and others recognized at awards program

Posted by
On May 2, 2014

Missouri University of Science and Technology celebrated campus leadership and support at the 12th annual Student Leaders’ Awards program held at the Havener Center on the Missouri S&T campus on April 30.

Ryan Beck, a senior in mechanical engineering from Louisburg, Kan., received the Extraordinary Student Leader Award. The award recognizes overall leadership excellence of a student leader at S&T. Criteria for selection includes time and effort, impact on the campus community, scope of leadership ability, variety of positions served, internal motivation and drive, and a demonstrated desire to sustain leadership beyond their responsibilities. Beck is a former president of Missouri S&T’s Student Council.

Joe’s Peers received the Most Improved Organization Award for its significant growth in improving in stature and contributions to the university in the past year.

Adam McMikle, a junior in history from St. Petersburg, Fla., received the Outstanding Student Advocate Award for his dedication to improving student life at Missouri S&T.

Dr. Jerri Arnold-Cook, director of leadership and cultural programs, received the Extraordinary Faculty/Staff Member Award for her support of students’ development of personal and leadership skills.

Esi Adeborna, a graduate student in information science and technology from Rolla, received the Diversity Recognition Award for her leadership role in improving the climate at S&T for diverse groups and educating the campus to appreciate this increasingly diverse campus and community.

Mondae Atughonu, a senior in biological sciences from Rolla, Mo., received the Keystone Award for his efforts in supporting student organizations and helping them achieve success.

The Chinese Students and Scholars Association received the Remarkable Student Group Award for its outstanding commitment to the principles of leadership and demonstrating significant growth from the previous school year.

The event was hosted by the Missouri S&T Student Council, Blue Key Honor Society, Residence Hall Association, Order of Omega, National Residence Hall Honorary and Tau Beta Pi.

Share this page

Posted by

On May 2, 2014. Posted in Featured, People, Student Life

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *