Siau named chair of business and information technology at S&T

Posted by
On February 29, 2012

Dr. Keng Siau, the Edwin J. Faulkner Professor and full professor of management at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, has been named chair of business and information technology at Missouri University of Science and Technology. His appointment takes effect June 1, 2012.

Siau will take over from Dr. Caroline Fisher, who plans to retire this summer.

“We are thrilled to have Dr. Siau join our business and information technology department,” says Dr. Robert W. Schwartz, interim provost at Missouri S&T. “His academic experience combined with his expertise in e-commerce make him the ideal candidate to build on the success of the department. I look forward to working with him.”

Siau’s areas of research interest include design science; virtual worlds and 3-D web; electronic, mobile and ubiquitous business; and business intelligence and analytics. He serves as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Database Management, the North American regional editor of Requirements Engineering, the co-editor-in-chief of the “Advances in Database Research” book series and is vice president of education for the Association for Information Systems.

Siau began his career at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1996 as an assistant professor. In 2000, he was promoted to associate professor and in 2005, he was promoted to professor. He was named E. J. Faulkner Professor in 2006.

Siau earned a Ph.D. degree in management information systems from the University of British Columbia in 1996. He also holds bachelor of science and master of science degrees in computer and information sciences from the National University of Singapore.

Siau has more than 250 academic publications and numerous citations. In 2011, he was ranked as one of the top researchers in his field and in 2006, he was ranked as one of the top 10 e-commerce researchers in the world.

He has received numerous teaching, research and service awards, including the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Distinguished Teaching Award, the College of Business Administration Distinguished Teaching Award and the College of Business Administration Research Award. He is a recipient of the International Federation for Information Processing Outstanding Service Award, the IBM Faculty Award and the IBM Faculty Innovation Award.

Share this page