Student leaders and others recognized at awards program at S&T

Posted by
On May 2, 2011

Missouri University of Science and Technology celebrated campus accomplishments and leadership at the ninth Annual Student Leaders’ Awards program held April 14 at the Havener Center on the Missouri S&T campus.

The Missouri S&T Student Council, Blue Key Honor Society, Residence Hall Association, and Tau Beta Pi, in association with the Missouri S&T Corporate Development Council, hosted the event to recognize the outstanding achievements of students, faculty and staff.

The Corporate Development Council (CDC) is an organization of about 50 of Missouri S&T’s corporate partners. Corporate sponsors of the event include Archer Daniels Midland Co., Associated Electric Cooperative, AT&T, Bell Helicopter, Black & Veatch, The Boeing Co., Caterpillar Inc., Cerner Corp., Code Consultants, ConocoPhillips, Covidien, Express Scripts Inc., General Motors Corp., Honeywell International Inc., Nooter/Eriksen, Nucor-Yamato Steel Co. and United States Steel Corp.

The CDC Award recipients are:

Remarkable Student Group: Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity. This award recognizes a student organization that demonstrates commitment to the principles of leadership on which Missouri S&T was founded.

Most Improved Organization: iGEM (International Genetically Engineered Machines Designs Team). This award recognizes the student group that shows significant growth in improving in stature and contributions to the university in the past year.

Most Spirited: Alexa Rooney, a senior in architectural engineering from Raymore, Mo. This award goes to a student who spreads campus and community spirit through actions and words.

Outstanding Student Advocate: Dr. Francisca Oboh-Ikuenobe, professor and program head of the geology and geophysics department. This award is given to a student, faculty or staff member who has shown outstanding dedication to the betterment of student lives at S&T.

Extraordinary Faculty/Staff Member: Tina R. Goolsby, student services advisor in the student life office. This award goes to the faculty or staff member who has best supported the development of personal and leadership skills in the classroom through advising or in another role with the university.

Keystone Award: Mary Lou Barkley, receptionist at the Residential College. This award goes to a person who may not be in a formal leadership role, but who indirectly influences the lives of S&T students and serves as a source of strength and encouragement.

Share this page

Posted by

On May 2, 2011. Posted in People