Academy of Mines and Metallurgy at S&T inducts new member

Posted by
On April 19, 2011

One graduate of Missouri University of Science and Technology was inducted into the Missouri S&T Academy of Mines and Metallurgy April 14.

The academy is an advisory group that was founded in 1954. The group includes graduates and others who have made outstanding contributions to their professions.

The 2011 inductee is Dr. Michael S. Moats, associate professor of metallurgical engineering at the University of Utah. Moats earned a bachelor’s degree in metallurgical engineering from S&T in 1992 and a master’s degree in 1995.

Two researchers from Missouri S&T received Mines and Metallurgy Academy Faculty Awards during the induction ceremony: Dr. Hyoung Koo Lee, assistant professor of nuclear engineering, received the junior faculty award; and Dr. David Van Aken, professor of metallurgical engineering, received the senior faculty award.

In addition, seven seniors at Missouri S&T received $500 scholarship awards. Recipients of 2011 Scholar Awards from the academy are Alex Hopkins, a mining engineering major from Beaufort, Mo.; Marina Jacobe, a geological engineering major from St. Louis; Kelsey Kurilla, a petroleum engineering major from Edwardsville, Ill.; Andrew Merritt, a metallurgical engineering major from Owasso, Okla.; Aaron Olson, a nuclear engineering major from Taneyville, Mo.; Erica Ronchetto, a ceramic engineering major from Chesterfield, Mo.; and Crystal Twenter, a geophysics engineering major from Sedalia, Mo.

Share this page

Posted by

On April 19, 2011. Posted in People