Alumna and Woman Student of the Year winners announced

Posted by
On October 28, 2010

The Missouri University of Science and Technology Alumna and Woman Student of the Year Committee recently announced its 2010 award winners. The awards are given to alumna and women students who are dedicated to enhancing the lives of women and committed to diversity.

Dr. Mary Reidmeyer, associate teaching professor and outreach coordinator of the materials science and engineering department, received the Missouri S&T 2010 Alumna of the Year Award.

Reidmeyer received her bachelor’s degree in 1978, master’s degree in 1984 and Ph.D. in 1989, all in ceramic engineering from Missouri S&T. Her professional achievements include receiving the Ceramic Engineering Outstanding Faculty Award four times, the Keramos Alumna Award for 2007, and the 2007 Missouri S&T Alumna of the Year Bronze Award.

The Missouri S&T 2010 Woman Student of the Year Gold Award went to Brandi Andersen, a junior majoring in chemical engineering with biochemical engineering emphasis.

Andersen served as an On-Track mentor, PRO (preview, registration and orientation) leader, and is currently the PRO student leader coordinator. She served as president and vice president for Phi Eta Sigma and Omega Chi Epsilon. She received the Joe Mooney Distinguished Student Award for Outstanding Officer of a Campus Organization and the Enrollment Management Outstanding Leadership Award.

The Missouri S&T Woman Student of the Year Silver Award went to Julie Speer, a junior majoring in psychological science with minors in global studies and multiculturalism and diversity. Speer has been a Study Abroad student in Hong Kong and a short-term Study Abroad student in Guatemala. Since 2008, she has been a regional member of Psi Chi National Honor Society. She served as hall governor at Residential College 2, Opening Week mentor, On-Track mentor and resident assistant.

The Missouri S&T Woman Student of the Year Bronze Award went to Karen Schilli, a junior majoring in biological science with minors in chemistry and cognitive neuroscience. Schilli is president of the Helix Biological Sciences Club, vice president of Phi Sigma Honor Society, and has been on the academic scholars list since 2008. She also received the Most Outstanding Student Leader award for 2010.

The Alumna and Woman Student of the Year Award endowment was created by three Missouri S&T professors: Dr. Mariesa Crow, F. Finley Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering; Dr. Dee Haemmerlie Montgomery, Curator’s Teaching Professor of Psychology; and Dr. Ann Miller, Cynthia Tang Missouri Distinguished Professor of Computer Science.

Share this page

Posted by

On October 28, 2010. Posted in People