Faculty and students honored at ASEM conference

Posted by
On November 3, 2009

Faculty members and students from Missouri University of Science and Technology received recognition from the American Society of Engineering Management during the 30th annual ASEM National Conference held Oct. 14-17 in Springfield, Mo.

Dr. William Daughton, a professor of engineering management and systems engineering at Missouri S&T, received the highest award of the society, the Bernard R. Sarchet Award, presented in recognition of leadership and continuing support of ASEM. The award is named after the founder of the society, who was the first chair of the engineering management department at Missouri S&T in the 1960s.

Dr. Benjamin Dow, a lecturer in engineering management and systems engineering at Missouri S&T, received a Meritorious Service Award from the society.

S&T’s student chapter of ASEM received the Outstanding Student Chapter Award, presented annually for the best record of membership and activities. Megan McLain, a graduate student in engineering management and ASEM chapter president, accepted the award.

Missouri S&T students Sean Schmidt, John Belshe, Chris Murray and Horace Brown were members of the winning team in the annual case study competition held at the conference. The S&T team competed against other engineering management undergraduates from the University of Arizona and the United States Military Academy. This is the second time in three years that an S&T team has won the competition.

Share this page

Posted by

On November 3, 2009. Posted in People