Missouri S&T residential life students win regional awards

Posted by
On February 27, 2008

Missouri University of Science and Technology was a big winner at the recent
annual business meeting of the Midwest Affiliate of College and University
Residence Halls (MACURH). Missouri S&T students and staff took home six of
the 10 available awards, more than any other university in the seven-state,
50-school region.

Missouri S&T was recognized with the following awards:

  • Missouri S&T’s Shamrock Chapter of the National Residence Hall Honorary
    (NRHH), an organization comprised of the top 1 percent of residence hall
    leaders, was recognized as the Chapter of the Year for leadership initiatives
    and programming on campus and in the MACURH region.
  • Jonathan Leek, a senior in psychology from St. Louis, was named the NRHH
    Member of the Year for his contributions within NRHH to benefit leaders on the
    Missouri S&T campus.
  • Matt Hume, a sophomore in engineering management from St. Peters, Mo., was
    named Programmer of the Year for his programmatic efforts in the residence
    halls and on campus.
  • Jacob Sherry, a sophomore in architectural engineering from Wright City,
    Mo., was named Student of the Year for his leadership in the residence
  • Alias Seiichi Tagami, a senior in aerospace engineering from Rolla, Mo.,
    received the Distinguished Service Award for a lifetime of service to both the
    local residence halls and to the MACURH region.
  • Dana Barnard, Thomas Jefferson Hall Resident Director, was named Advisor of
    the Year for her contributions to the residence halls and various campus
    organizations. Dana was recognized for her efforts in promoting diversity
    awareness and student empowerment.

Each award winner will represent the MACURH region at a national
competition. National awards will be announced mid-May.

MACURH is comprised of residence hall associations throughout Iowa, Kansas,
Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and the Canadian
province of Manitoba.

MACURH is one of eight regions affiliated with NACURH, the largest
student-run non-profit organization in the United States. It promotes the
educational goals of residence-hall students through discussion groups,
seminars and speakers at the annual conferences, as well as other information
exchanges throughout the year.

Share this page

Posted by

On February 27, 2008. Posted in News