Fitzsimmons named Honorary St. Patrick

Posted by
On February 26, 2008

Local photographer Robert Fitzsimmons has been named Honorary St. Patrick
for the 100th St. Pat’s celebration in

In addition, the Missouri University of Science and Technology committee
that helps organize St. Pat’s events has named seven individuals Honorary
Knights of St. Patrick for 2008. The Honorary Knights are Warren Carroll, John
Moll, Stevie Kearse, Jeff Steinhart, Cheryl Walker, Robert Whites and Dr.
Warren K. Wray.         

Fitzsimmons and the others will be honored during a special ceremony at 9
p.m. Friday, March 14, in Leach Theatre of Castleman Hall on the Missouri
S&T campus.         

The 2008 celebration will culminate with a parade down Pine Street at 11
a.m. Saturday, March 15, followed by a re-enactment of the campus events that
started the Rolla tradition 100 years ago. Fitzsimmons will also serve as the
parade marshal.         

Biographical information on Fitzsimmons and all of the 2008 Honorary Knights

2008 Honorary St.

Robert Fitzsimmons was named an Honorary Knight of St. Patrick in 1996.
Fitzsimmons and his camera have been a staple of St. Pat’s celebrations in
Rolla for almost 50 years. From 1961 through 2005, Fitz saved his vacation days
in order to chronicle the adventures of St. Pat and the students in his court
every March. Although he no longer provides “official” photography services to
the court, he is still a St. Pat’s fixture in Rolla. After graduating from
Rolla High School in 1959, Fitz went to work for the Rolla Daily News as a
circulation manager. Later, he became the newspaper’s main photographer. In
1963, Fitz and partner Darrell Bradford opened a camera store and photography
shop in Rolla. Fitz also worked as a civilian photographer at Fort Leonard
Wood. He is now retired. 

2008 Honorary

Warren Carroll portrayed St. Pat in 1957. Carroll earned a petroleum
engineering degree in 1959. He is retired from Ingersoll Rand Corp. and is now
a real estate broker for Keller-Williams in Houston. He is active in the Miner
Alumni Association and enjoys attending high school recruiting events as a
representative of Missouri S&T. He is president of the Homeowners
Association of Greenwood Forest, Texas, and a Republican precinct chair. He is
also a member of the 2008 Bond Plan Steering Committee for Klein School

2008 Honorary

John Moll portrayed St. Pat in 1969. Moll, who earned a bachelor’s degree in
civil engineering in 1969, is the director of engineering for Nestle Purina
PetCare Co. in St. Louis. He has engineering oversight of 24 production plants
in the United States and his department provides technical support to Nestle
facilities around the globe. Moll manages the central engineering group, which
provides the company’s design, installation and procurement services. At
Missouri S&T, Moll was a member of the Kappa Sigma fraternity and played
football. He was inducted into the university’s Academy of Civil Engineers in
1999. Moll, who enjoys fly fishing and woodworking, is active in the Miner
Alumni Association. 

2008 Honorary

Stevie Kearse is executive director of the Rolla Area Chamber of Commerce.
Prior to being named executive director on Feb. 1, 2007, Kearse worked for the
chamber as a project coordinator, tourism director and membership director. She
has assisted with the coordination of several community events, including Music
Under the Stars and previous St. Pat’s parades. She is currently working on
local issues related to the upcoming Tour of Missouri event. Kearse is
secretary for the Rolla Downtown Business Association and a member of the Rolla
Kiwanis Noon Club. 

2008 Honorary

Jeff Steinhart is vice president of engineering and environmental affairs
for Anheuser-Busch Inc. in St. Louis. Steinhart graduated from Missouri S&T
with a bachelor’s degree in engineering management in 1979. In 1982, he earned
a master’s of business administration degree from Southern Illinois University.
That same year, he joined Anheuser-Busch. Steinhart’s responsibilities include
leading the engineering and environmental affairs department for the company’s
domestic and international beer operations. His engineering group is
responsible for the design and execution of more than $700 million in capital
projects for the company and its subsidiaries. The environmental affairs group
provides management and technical expertise to support the company’s business
goals and to manage the company’s commitment to environmental excellence.
Steinhart is a member of Anheuser-Busch’s Board of Directors and its
Environmental Health and Safety Policy Committee. He is a dedicated supporter
of Missouri S&T. 

2008 Honorary

Cheryl Walker was recently elected chair of the University of Missouri Board
of Curators. Walker received a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from
Missouri S&T in 1986 and also holds a law degree from Washington
University. A former Homecoming Queen at Missouri S&T, Walker is now
president and general counsel of Obasi Enterprises and also serves as counsel
in the St. Louis office of Bryan Cave LLP. Walker is a member of the Tower
Grove Park Board of Commissioners and The United Way of Greater St. Louis. She
enjoys poetry and is the author of a chapbook published by Southern Illinois
University Press. Walker’s father, a professional jazz musician, performed with
Duke Ellington and Count Basie. This influence resonates throughout much of her

2008 Honorary

Robert Whites has worked in the office of student financial assistance at
Missouri S&T for 29 years. Whites has assisted thousands of students in
financially being able to fulfill their career dreams. He is a member of the
National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators and the Midwest
Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators. He is currently on the
Missouri Department of Higher Education’s Financial Aid Advisory Board.
Locally, he belongs to the Knights of Columbus. The Whites family attends St.
Patrick Catholic Church. 

2008 Honorary

Dr. Warren K. Wray is provost and executive vice chancellor at Missouri
S&T. Wray oversees enrollment management, pre-college programs, information
technology, research and sponsored programs, technology transfer, undergraduate
and graduate studies programs, distance and continuing education and
international programs. Previously, Wray was a professor of civil engineering
and provost at Michigan Technological University. He has also served in faculty
and administrative positions at Ohio University and Texas Tech University. Wray
earned a bachelor’s degree in physics from Washburn University, a bachelor’s
degree in civil engineering from Kansas State University, a master’s degree in
civil engineering from the Air Force Institute of Technology and a Ph.D. in
civil engineering from Texas A&M University.

Share this page

Posted by

On February 26, 2008. Posted in People