St. Louis IEEE Section honors UMR researcher

Posted by
On December 6, 2006

Dr. Ganesh Kumar Venayagamoorthy, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering and director of the Real-Time Power and Intelligent Systems Laboratory at the University of Missouri-Rolla, recently received the Outstanding Section Member Award for his service to the St. Louis Section of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Venayagamoorthy accepted the award during the section’s annual awards banquet and social held Dec. 2 in St. Louis. He is the founding and current chair of the St. Louis Chapter of the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society and the chair of the St. Louis Chapter of the IEEE Industrial Applications Society.

A senior member of IEEE, Venayagamoorthy joined UMR in May 2002. His main research interests include power systems stability and control, alternative sources of energy, computational intelligence, evolvable hardware and signal processing.

Prior to his current position, he was a senior lecturer at the Durban Institute of Technology, South Africa. He is also the recipient of the 2006 Walter Fee Outstanding Young Engineer Award from the IEEE Power Engineering Society, the 2005 Young Outstanding Member Award from the IEEE IAS, the 2005 South African Institute of Electrical Engineers Young Achievers’ ABB Award and has received similar awards from IEEE St. Louis Section in 2004 and the International Neural Network Society in 2003.

He received a bachelor’s degree in electrical and electronic engineering from the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University in Nigeria in 1994 and master’s and doctorate degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Natal in Durban, South Africa, in 1999 and 2002, respectively.

Share this page

Posted by

On December 6, 2006. Posted in News