UMR researcher to receive IEEE Young Engineer Award

Posted by
On May 11, 2006

Dr. Ganesh Kumar Venayagamoorthy, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering and director of the real-time power and intelligent systems laboratory at the University of Missouri-Rolla, has been selected to receive the Walter Fee Outstanding Young Engineer Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Power Engineering Society (IEEE PES).

The award recognizes engineers under the age of 35 for “outstanding contributions in the leadership of technical society activities including local and/or transactional PES and other technical societies, leadership in community and humanitarian activities, and evidence of technical competence through significant engineering achievements.”

Venayagamoorthy will accept the award June 20 at the IEEE PES general meeting in Montreal, Canada.

A senior member of IEEE, Venayagamoorthy joined UMR in May 2002. His main research interests include power systems stability and control, alternative sources of energy, computational intelligence, evolvable hardware and signal processing.

Prior to his current position, he was a senior lecturer at the Durban Institute of Technology, South Africa. He is also the receipt of the 2005 Young Outstanding Member award from the IEEE Industry Applications Society, the 2005 South African Institute of Electrical Engineers Young Achievers’ ABB award and has received similar awards from IEEE St. Louis Section in 2004 and the International Neural Network Society in 2003.

He received a bachelor’s degree in electrical and electronic engineering from the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University in Nigeria in 1994 and master’s and doctorate degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Natal in Durban, South Africa, in 1999 and 2002, respectively.

Share this page

Posted by

On May 11, 2006. Posted in News