UMR recognizes five faculty for teaching excellence

Posted by
On December 5, 2005

The University of Missouri-Rolla recently recognized five faculty for their consistent demonstration of quality instruction in the classroom.

The Deans Teaching Scholar program, established in 2004, was developed to honor faculty members for their ability to create and maintain an outstanding learning environment for students. “The award is designed to promote and encourage excellence across campus,” says Dr. Harvest Collier, professor of chemistry and vice provost for undergraduate and graduate studies at UMR.

Award winners are selected by the dean of each school or college based on student course evaluations, department chair recommendations, and evidence of good teaching practices. The recipients are appointed to a three-year term and receive $2,000 per year. The annual award is open to all UMR faculty members except Distinguished Curators’ Professors.

The following faculty members were selected for the awards:

  • Col. Tom Akers, instructor of mathematics and statistics, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. David J. Westenberg, associate professor of biological sciences, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Douglas R. Carroll, professor of interdisciplinary engineering, School of Engineering
  • Dr. Michael Hilgers, associate professor of information science and technology, School of Management and Information Systems
  • Dr. Ronald Allen Kohser, professor of materials science and engineering, School of Materials, Energy, and Earth Resources


Share this page

Posted by

On December 5, 2005. Posted in News