UMR recognizes six faculty for teaching excellence

Posted by
On September 24, 2004

The University of Missouri-Rolla established a new award this fall to recognize faculty who consistently demonstrate quality instruction in the classroom.

The Deans Teaching Scholar program was developed to honor faculty members for their ability to create and maintain an outstanding learning environment for students. "The award is designed to promote and encourage excellence across campus," says Dr. Harvest Collier, professor of chemistry and vice provost for graduate and undergraduate studies at UMR.

Award winners are selected by the dean of each school or college based on student course evaluations, department chair recommendations, and evidence of good teaching practices. The recipients are appointed to a three-year term and receive $2,000 per year. The award is open to all UMR faculty members except Distinguished Teaching Professors and will be awarded annually.

The following faculty members were selected for the awards:
— Dr. Diana Ahmad, archivist and assistant professor of history and political science, College of Arts and Sciences
— Dr. D.J. Belarbi, professor of civil, architectural and environmental engineering, School of Engineering
— Dr. Ralph Flori Jr., associate professor of basic engineering, School of Engineering
— Dr. Kurt Kosbar, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, School of Engineering
— Dr. Yinfa Ma, associate professor chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences
— Dr. Kent Peaslee, associate professor of metallurgical engineering, School of Materials, Energy and Earth Resources.

Share this page

Posted by

On September 24, 2004. Posted in News