S&T faculty to receive excellence awards

Four faculty members at Missouri University of Science and Technology will receive Faculty Excellence Awards at a ceremony scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2014.

The awards are given annually to recognize excellence in teaching, research and service. Each award winner will receive a $3,000 stipend funded by industry and alumni contributions.

The 2013 Missouri S&T Faculty Excellence Award winners are:

— Dr. Michael Bruening, associate professor of history and political science

— Dr. Sriram Chellappan, assistant professor of computer science

— Dr. Xiaoping Du, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering

— Dr. Matthew J. O’Keefe, professor of materials science and engineering.