A good year for ECE

Posted by
On October 26, 2021

Group of ECE students and faculty

Missouri S&T’s IEEE student branch was named Outstanding Student Organization by the IEEE St. Louis section.

Electrical and computing engineering (ECE) students and faculty have a long list of accomplishments for 2021. Here’s a selection of good news.

Student awards

Electrical engineering seniors Patrick Mitchell and Aaron Burke placed first in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 2021 Student Ethics Competition for IEEE Region 5.

The IEEE St. Louis Section recognized ECE students with the following 2021 awards:

  • S&T IEEE Student Branch was named Outstanding Student Organization
  • Elanor Jackson, a senior in computer engineering, was named Outstanding IEEE Undergraduate Student

The ECE Gamma Theta Chapter of IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu was one of 63 chapters selected for a 2021 Key Chapter Award

Leonardo Enzo Brito Da Silva received the Dissertation Award from the International Neural Network Society. His advisor was Donald Wunsch.

Missouri S&T researchers received multiple awards at the 2021 Joint IEEE International Symposium on Electromagnetic Compatibility, Signal and Power Integrity and EMC Europe conference.

  • Graduate students Jiayi He, Aaron Harmon, Yuandong Guo, Yuanzhuo Liu and research collaborators won best paper in power and signal integrity for their work on “Signal Integrity Design Methodology for Package in Co-packaged Optics Based on Figure of Merit as Channel Operating Margin.”
  • Graduate students Yuanzhuo Liu, Shaohui Yong, Yuandong Guo, Jiayi He, Liang Liu, Nick Kutheis; Intel engineer Xiaoning Ye, EE’00; assistant professor Donghyun (Bill) Kim; former S&T professor Jun Fan and research collaborators won best signal and power integrity student paper for their work on “Far-End Crosstalk Analysis for Stripline with Inhomogeneous Dielectric Layers.”
  • Graduate students Jack Juang; Ling Zhang; visiting associate research professor Zurab Kiguradze; Google engineer Shuai Jin, PhD EE’18; assistant professor Chulsoon Hwang and research collaborators were named runners-up for the best signal and power integrity student paper for their work on “A Modified Genetic Algorithm for the Selection of Decoupling Capacitors in PDN Design.” 
  • Graduate student Anfeng Huang received the IEEE EMC Society’s James C. Klouda Memorial Scholarship Award.
  • Graduate student Yuandong Guo won the IEEE EMC Society’s Student Hardware Design Contest.

DesignCon paper award

Assistant professor DongHyun (Bill) Kim; Siqi Bai, PhD EE’21; research scholar Jongjoo Lee; Junda Wang, MS EE’20; Meta engineer Bichen Chen, EE’19; former S&T professor Jun Fan and research collaborators from Meta, the parent company of Facebook, were recognized in the Power and RF Design category. Their paper is titled “Analysis of Power via Induced Quasi-Quarter-Wavelength Resonance to Reduce Crosstalk.” 

Cody Goins, a senior in electrical engineering, portrayed St. Patrick during the 2021 St. Pats celebration.

Faculty awards

The IEEE St. Louis Section recognized ECE faculty with the following 2021 awards:

  • Sahra Sedigh Sarvestani – Outstanding Research and Scholarship
  • DongHyun “Bill” Kim – Young Engineer 

Steve E. Watkins received the 2021 Distinguished Service Award from IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu, the Honor Society for IEEE.

Victor Khilkevich received a Technical Achievement Award from the IEEE Electromagnetic Compatibility Society, one of only two annual awards given by the EMC Society to recognize technical contributions in the field of electromagnetic compatibility (EMC).

Jagannathan Sarangapani received the 2021 President’s Award for Excellence: Sustained Career from the University of Missouri System.

Missouri S&T honored several ECE faculty with awards:

  • Daryl Beetner – Faculty Excellence Award
  • Chulsoon Hwang – Outstanding Research Award and Outstanding Teaching Commendation
  • R. Joe Stanley – Sustained Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Kurt Kosbar – Outstanding Teaching Award
  • Rui Bo – Outstanding Teaching Commendation.

ECE alumni

Amy Jones, EE‘08, received Honorable Mention in the IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu’s 2021 Outstanding Young Professional Award program. She is an engineering supervisor for John Deere.

Paul Baldetti, EE’81; Daryl Beetner, ECE chair 2015-21; Daniel Dziedzic, EE’83; and Warren Kohm, EE’93, MS EE’97 were inducted into the Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Share this page

Posted by

On October 26, 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *