S&T faculty members receive UM System President’s Awards

Posted by
On March 18, 2011

Three faculty members from Missouri University of Science and Technology have received President’s Awards, the highest honor bestowed by the University of Missouri System, for excellence among the university’s four mission areas of teaching, research, service and economic development.

“The faculty and students honored with a President’s Award represent some of the finest, most dedicated educators and students we have on our four campuses,” says University of Missouri Interim President Steve Owens. “Their passion and commitment to excellence have made a profound impact not only on our university but on all who have the pleasure of knowing and working with them.”

The awards were presented to winners in early March. Recipients will be honored at an awards dinner in June with the University of Missouri Board of Curators.

Winners from Missouri S&T include:

Dr. Mohamed Rahaman, professor of materials science and engineering, winner of the Inter-Campus Collaboration Award for his work with Dr. B. Sonny Bal, associate professor of orthopedic surgery at the University of Missouri-Columbia. Rahaman is also director of the Center for Bone and Tissue Repair and Regeneration. The Inter-Campus Collaboration Award is presented to faculty members who promote successful collaboration across two or more campuses.

Dr. Klaus Woelk, associate professor and assistant chair of chemistry, winner of the Innovative Teaching Award for redesigning introductory level chemistry courses to include discussion boards, student response devices, online testing and homework, and the ability to communicate with the instructor through text messaging during class. The Innovative Teaching Award recognizes an outstanding teacher who uses innovative teaching methods, including electronic resources, social media or experiential activities.

Rick Stephenson, professor of civil, architectural and environmental engineering and assistant department chair for graduate affairs, winner of the Cross-Cultural Engagement Award for his work with Engineers Without Borders. This award is presented to a faculty member with demonstrated success in promoting cross-cultural activities or understanding through classroom or student service activities.

Share this page