UMR wind ensembles to perform Nov. 15

Posted by
On November 14, 2007

The Fall Wind Ensemble and the Symphonic Winds at the University of
Missouri-Rolla will perform their fall concert at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 15,
in Leach Theatre of UMR’s Castleman Hall.

The concert is free for UMR students and those age 18 and younger and $3 for

The bands will be joined by the University Brass Choir, which will open the
concert with Jason Nitsch’s exciting “Fanfare for Brass". This piece will
feature 28 of the university’s best brass players.

“This concert presents a wide range of music from very quiet to quite loud
and boisterous", says Dr. Robert Cesario, assistant professor of arts,
languages and philosophy at UMR and director of UMR’s instrumental music
groups. “Some are fairly old and some are brand new. The concert should have
something for everyone, from the true band music aficionado who wants to hear
the latest the medium has to offer, to the person who simply wants to have a
good time and hear some tunes they can hum on the way home".

Following the Brass Choir, the Fall Wind Ensemble will present music by
William Latham, Bruce Fraser, Charles Rochester Young, Robert Sheldon and Grant
Hull. The pieces range in mood from Latham’s noble “Proud Heritage" march
to Young’s quiet hymn “A Child’s Embrace" and include Fraser’s both
haunting and cheerful tribute to Scotland’s Bonnie Prince Charlie and a rousing
rendition of Hull’s setting of “Drunken Sailor", Cesario says.

The Percussion Ensemble will perform the world premiere of a new piece
written specifically for it by Specialist Michael Case from the 399th Army Band
at Fort Leonard Wood, Mo. The piece, “Sonus", will be conducted by the

After a brief intermission, the Symphonic Winds will conclude the program
with Charles Catel’s “Overture in C", a late 18th Century work clearly
influenced by Mozart. Two dance suites follow. The recent “Four Norfolk
Dances" by English composer Philip Sparke, which was written as an 80th
birthday commemoration for Malcolm Arnold, consists of four dances based on
tunes from the Norfolk region of England. Robert Russell Bennett’s classic but
always entertaining “Suite of Old American Dances" will follow This
five-movement work features “Cake Walk", “Schottische", “Western One
Step", “Wallflower Waltz", and “Rag".

For more information about the concert or the UMR music program, call the
UMR performing arts office at 573-341-4185.

Share this page

Posted by

On November 14, 2007. Posted in Events