Nine receive UMR Staff Excellence Awards

Posted by
On May 30, 2007

Eight full-time University of Missouri-Rolla employees and one part-time employee were honored Wednesday, May 30, for their contributions to the campus during UMR Staff Recognition Day ceremonies on campus.

Each full-time winner received a certificate and a $600 check from UMR Chancellor John F. Carney III during the award ceremonies, which began at 9 a.m. in the St. Pat’s Ballroom of the Havener Center. The part-time award winner received a certificate and a check for $300.

The winners were selected from a group of staff members who were nominated by faculty, staff and students. Winners are selected on the basis of their job performance, relationship with associates and dedication to UMR.

Awards were given to staff members in five employment categories at UMR: administrative and professional, crafts and services, secretarial and clerical, technical and paraprofessional, and part time.

Receiving awards were the following:

Melissa Keeney — landscape designer, physical facilities

Debra Mash — supervisor of cashiering, accounting and fiscal services

Joyce Erkiletain — administrative assistant, materials science and engineering

Rhonda Grayson — administrative assistant, computer science

Dee White — administrative assistant, physical facilities

David Lane — telecommunications technician, information technology

MaryAnn Robinson — grounds keeper II, physical facilities

Dorothy Jackson — custodian, physical facilities

Nicholas Oswald — microcomputer maintenance technician, information technology

In addition to the Staff Excellence Awards, Staff Council presented the Jan Buhlinger Spirit Award to Charlotte Lewis, executive staff assistant II in the chancellor’s office. The award is named for the late Jan Buhlinger, a former UMR staff member and member of Staff Council. Recipients are selected by Staff Council based on their spirit for UMR.

The group also recognized Jinny Ryle, executive staff assistant II in the provost’s office, Ryle was a founding member of UMR’s first Staff Council in 1989. She chaired the group from 1989 through 1994.

Share this page

Posted by

On May 30, 2007. Posted in People